Honest Clothing Reviews

To keep myself motivated while I continue to declutter my closet I’ve decided to start a little series called my Honest Clothing Reviews. Here I’ll chat briefly about clothing I’ve sold over Poshmark and why I decided to sell them. I’ll feature here clothing that I personally found were beautiful pieces but just didn’t really work for me. This will hopefully help curb any future purchases where I find myself in the mindset of want before purchasing. Anyway, onto the first item!

Sézane Solal Jumper – Vintage Blue

I was knee deep in the sustainable fashion movement and this pretty number popped up on my radar. It was by small fashion house Sézane and checked all my boxes for what I was looking for in an “investment” sweater. Mock neck, trendy popcorn knit and flattering diagonal stitch. It came in this beautifully pictured Vintage Blue shade that I thought would be perfect to look like that waif-like woke-up-like-this Paris girl aesthetic I thought I needed to identify with. It was going to be my stand out sweater de la saison or so I told myself every time I bought a new sweater. A month of shipping and astronomical custom fees later I finally had it. And honestly, I tried it on and it felt off. It was tight on the neck but weirdly oversized in the torso. It was an unflattering length for petite 5’1.5 (the 0.5 is important people) me. It always felt too princess-y and didn’t quite match my complexion. After almost a year of trying my best to keep it in my wardrobe I decided to say adieu.

Lesson: Don’t try to be an aesthetic that doesn’t suit you

Leave a comment